Harry Hart Trophy - 12th Province v Ayr

11 December 2013

Ayrshire took on Renfrewshire yesterday at Greenacres in the inter Province match for the Harry Hart Trophy. This trophy was originally presented by Harry, a Largs Thistle member and one time operator of the rowing boats on the Largs foreshore.

The three Ayrshire rinks were drawn from a number of clubs and skipped by Billy Howat, John Davers and Robert Wilson. I am pleased to report that all three Ayrshire rinks came out on top with Billy beating a rink from the Reform club, John winning against a Gourock rink and Robert getting the better of a rink from the Bridge of Weir club.

Ayrshire therefore retained the trophy ( for the fourth year running ) and Sheila Deans, representing the Renfrewshire Province presented the cup to Robert Wilson who was the highest up skip on the winning side with +4 shots.

All three games were closely contested and played in a competitive but sociable manner.

The winning rink was Robert Wilson, Andrew Kerr, Aileen McCorkell and Alison Wilson.
The others were -
John Davers, Morag Evans, Gemmill Jack and Shona Jack
Billy Howat, Bert Andrew, Eila MacLennan and Jim Parker

The report would not be complete without mention of our team supporter - David Smith who also enjoyed his day out !


Thanks to Andrew Kerr for the report.

Back to news <