Dunlop Memorial Salver 21-22

11 March 2022

Dunlop Memorial Salver 2021-2022

The final game and prizegiving of the DMS took place on Tuesday 8th March, with a full house of 48 players in attendance.

Grateful thanks are due to our top table sponsors and guests: Debbie Fleming of The RAD Hotel Group, Liz Goldie of Ayr Curling Club Board and Margaret Morton, who established the competition with her late husband Willie.

Following closely contested, friendly games, a delicious meal was served by Lorrie and his team and then the prizes were then awarded as follows:

 DMS Winners 22

League winners:

Wilson Mitchell (skip)

Corrie Lawrence

Alicia Smith

Joe Hayes


League runners up:

Ross Drummond

John McWhirter

Mary Foy

Jack Shanks


League (third):

Elly Branch

Moira Drummond

Ian Robertson

Chris Clow


Knock Out winners:

Colin Naismith

Nora McCrossin

Mary Shaw

Kay Bennet


Knock Out runners up:

Euan Lawrence

Helen Lyburn

Elizabeth Shaw

Joe Hayes

The Flying Duck was this year awarded to James Galloway and his team of Jim Morrison, Frances Marshall and Louise Macdonald.

Morton Trophy Betty Dalgleish

Last, but by no means least, the Morton Trophy is presented annually to the member who demonstrates the true spirit of curling, displays commitment and sportsmanship.  It is voted on by members and this year was awarded to Betty Dalgliesh, who has curled for over 45 years, mainly with Irvine Ladies and Kirkoswald Curling Club. She also sponsored the ‘Grannies’ competition until she retired from the Baby’s Castle.

Betty is retiring from curling this summer and will be much missed, both on and off the ice.

Sincere thanks must finally go to John McWhirter and Colin Naismith who, between them, organise this very successful competition for silver curlers.

We meet on a Tuesday afternoon throughout the season and if you are interested in joining us, please contact Colin on























Back to news <