Dunlop Memorial Salver

06 March 2019

The league and knockout competitions have come to a conclusion and the final game and presentation of prizes took place on Tuesday 5th March

For those who don’t know these competitions they are open to players of a certain age who still enjoy competitive curling.There are 12 teams drawn at the start of the season who play each other fortnightly utilising day time ice .After the conclusion of the 11 games a league winner is decided.

The Knockout competition involves the same skips playing with different drawn teams in a knockout format with a high road and low road guaranteeing a minimum of 2 games per team.

Now to this years winners of the Dunlop Memorial Salver League or as I think of it as the Super League for Seniors

Going into the last game 4 teams were in contention to win the league. The teams of Robert Struthers and Colin Naismith both locked on 14 points and the teams of Duncan Mc Callum and Ross Drummond on 13 points. At the other end of the league the teams of John Steele and Archie McGregor had 6 points each.So all to play for.

With both the top teams winning their respective games and points and ends even the team of Colin Naismith with a better shot difference and a peeled end gave him the overall victory.

The winning team was skipped by Colin Naismith third Bill Abbot second Dorothy Moir and lead Jim Rosenburgh.The team of Robert Struthers were second and Ross Drummond’s team in third place . The team finishing in last position was that of Archie McGregor who received the coveted Effin duck trophy- to be fair to Archie his rink was skipped by guest skips who must shoulder the responsibility.

The Knockout winner of the High Road was skipped by Hall Thomson with runner up skipped by Tom Barr

The Low Road winner was skipped by John Steele with Ross Drummond’s rink runner up

The event was concluded with the resignations of Margaret and Willie Morton who after many years of service to these competitions have called it a day .A presentation was made to them to acknowledge their contributions over the years.

Anyone of a certain age who would like to play in these competitive but friendly competitions in the forthcoming years should notify the ice rink office who will see that their names are forwarded to the organising committee 


John Mc Whirter


Back to news <