Ayrshire wins Scottish Province Championships

10 November 2019

Ayrshire wins Scottish Province Championships

Congratulations to Stewarton Heather Curling Club who won the Scottish Province Champonships at Greenacres today.

David Mundell, Alan Smith, Alex Wilson and Dougie Reid were unbeaten throughout the competition and defeated last year's winners 5-3 in the Final.

Andrew Kerr, our favourite Scottsh Curling HHY, has added some more info and photos from Greenacres.  Thanks Andrew.

"Ayrshire were crowned Scottish Province Champions this week having gone through their section with four wins and a draw before seeing off Rhins o’Gallowa’ in the quarters and Angus in the semi final. In the final they came up against last year’s champions, the Keir Club representing Central Province whom they had beaten in the round robin.

Stew H Prov 1


With four international curlers in their rink in Lee and Judith McCleary, Lisa Davie and Stuart Brand, Keir fought all the way but it was Stewarton Heather which prevailed with a score of 5-3. David Mundell with Alan Smith, Alex Wilson and Ayrshire Province Vice President Dougie Reid were presented with the trophy by Brian McArtney, RCCC President.

Stew H Prov 2


Well done to the Stewarton boys bringing the trophy back to Ayrshire for only the second time. It would be interesting to hear if anyone can recall the previous Ayrshire winning rink."


Stew H Prov 3

Back to news <